Reviews

The Hate U Give- Book Review

32075671Personal classification: 5/5 stars

 

Author: Angie Thomas

 

Publication Date: February 28th 2017

 

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

 

Review:

I was extremely hesitant to start this book, the main reason why was the hype it got, but I knew it was an importante read, so I’ve decided that this was the time to read it. Before I even started the book I got spoiled for what actually happens at the beginning, which made me don’t want to read it right away, but I’m glad I did.

I laughed a lot with this book, there were so many things that I could laugh about (Harry Potter, and some other jokes) but it was also an emmotional ride. Angie Thomas writing is so addictive, and she can write slow scenes, and action packed scenes so well that you’ll always wonder what will she write next that will surprise you. I loved every second of this book, and how it made my heart ache sometimes.

But most importantly, I loved the passed it wants to pass along, Angie Thomas has an important message in this book, that makes it almost mandatory to be read by everyone living in the presente days. I think this is one of those books that will stay with you forever and can actually change the way you see things, or even the way you act sometimes.

This is a book that desserves all the attetion it gets and more! Highly recommend!

“Sometimes you can do everything right and things will still go wrong. The key is to never stop doing right.”

“At an early age I learned that people make mistakes, and you have to decide if their mistakes are bigger than your love for them.”

“That’s the problem. We let people say stuff, and they say it so much that it becomes okay to them and normal for us. What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?”

One thought on “The Hate U Give- Book Review

Leave a comment